New Chairperson for Sustainability Victoria

Published: 9 June 2021

Minister for Energy, Environment and Climate Change Lily D’Ambrosio has appointed Johan Scheffer as the new Chairperson of Sustainability Victoria for a five-year period.

Mr Scheffer comes to the Board of Sustainability Victoria following an extensive career in education, children’s services, policy development, private consultancy and as a Member of the Parliament of Victoria.

He brings considerable knowledge and experience in government policy, program management and public administration.

As a former Member of Parliament, Mr Scheffer was involved in legislation, advocacy and, as chair of Joint Investigatory Committees, directed research and consultation with communities and experts, across Australia and internationally.

Mr Scheffer has a longstanding engagement in environmental policy. During his time as the Member for Eastern Victoria he worked with communities and organisations on a broad range of environment issues, including forestry, farming, water, coasts and to address the uncertain future and impacts of the coal industry in the Latrobe Valley.

For more information, view our Board page.