Community Power Hubs Program 2021

Last updated: 28 June 2022

The $3.73 million Community Power Hubs program will accelerate Victoria’s transition to a renewable energy future. Based in each of Victoria’s regions, the hubs will work closely with their communities to offer trusted advice on clean energy solutions and will support, develop and deliver locally owned, cost-effective renewable energy projects. For more information about local projects being delivered, visit Community Power Hubs.

The program will empower communities to be active participants in planning and decisions around the transition to renewable energy and enable local environmental, social and economic benefits to be realised, including cost savings for local communities. It will also boost Victoria’s renewable energy capacity and work towards meeting Victoria’s target of zero carbon emissions by 2050.

The delivery of this program to each region in Victoria is an expansion of the successful 3 year Community Power Hubs Pilot Program which developed 3 hubs in Ballarat, Bendigo and the Latrobe Valley from 2017.

Lead Partner Organisations

Applications opened in March 2021 for eligible not-for-profit organisations or social enterprises across Victoria to apply to lead a Community Power Hub. Seven organisations were successful and announced in July 2021:

  • Geelong Sustainability Group – Barwon South West.
  • Gippsland Climate Change Network – Gippsland.
  • Ballarat Renewable Energy and Zero Emissions – Grampians.
  • Healesville CoRE – Greater Yarra Valley and Ranges.
  • Indigo Power in partnership with Goulburn Valley Community Energy – Hume.
  • Bendigo Sustainability Group – Loddon Mallee.
  • Yarra Energy Foundation – metropolitan Melbourne.

Implementation ready projects

In addition to funding the establishment and operation of the Community Power Hubs, the program is funding community renewable energy projects at 16 sites that will be delivered by their respective regional Community Power Hub:

  • Bendigo Jockey Club.
  • Bendigo Woolen Mills.
  • Coronet Bay Community Hall.
  • Geelong YMCA.
  • Gormandale Community House.
  • Hazeldenes Bald Hills.
  • Hazeldenes Lanecorie.
  • Heyfield Wetlands Information Centre.
  • Lucknow Football Netball Club.
  • Mallacoota Waste Water Treatment Plant.
  • Mildura South Regional Sporting Precinct.
  • Moyola Aged Care Tatura.
  • Neerim South Hospital.
  • Venus Bay Community Centre.
  • Yarragon Church.
  • Yea Community Shed.