Announcing the winners of the 2019 ResourceSmart School Awards

Victoria has celebrated and congratulated its outstanding sustainable schools, as the winners of the 2019 ResourceSmart Schools awards were announced in a special ceremony today at the MCG.

Schools across Victoria were recognised for their efforts to inspire sustainable action in their communities, reduce their environmental impact and protect the environment. 

Carrum Primary School took out the top award, winning ResourceSmart School of the Year. They won for inspiring other schools to act on climate change with a curriculum that makes sustainability fun for not only the school but also the local community. They were also applauded for their biodiversity promotion, recycling programs and solar energy initiatives.

A student talks to Craig Reucassel at the ResourceSmart School 2019 awards

The awards ceremony was hosted by Craig Reucassel, from ABC TV’s War on Waste, and he joined Lily D’Ambrosio, Minister for Energy, Environment and Climate Change , to announce the winning school and congratulated all the schools involved for 'contributing to a better place’ – the theme for this year’s awards. 

Award sponsors Bank First and the Victorian School Building Authority announced respectively the Teacher of the Year awards and the Community Leadership School of the Year award. Event sponsors Officeworks, Seasol and Custom Vertical Gardens were also there to share their congratulations and present some fantastic prizes for the schools.  

The ResourceSmart Schools Awards are Victoria’s largest sustainability awards program recognising schools leading the way in minimising waste, saving energy and water, increasing biodiversity and tackling climate change.

Congratulations to all the amazing winners of this year’s ResourceSmart Schools awards. A huge thank you to all the schools who entered. There was in incredibly high calibre of entries this year. We hope to see you all next year!

See the full list of winners and finalists below. Or check out the story of each school in our beautiful ResourceSmart Schools Award Magazine

Winners of the 2019 ResourceSmart School awards

School of the Year
Carrum Primary School (Carrum)

Campus Infrastructure and Operations School of the Year
Beaconhills College (Pakenham and Berwick)

Teacher of the Year (Primary)
Vanessa Smith, Truganina South Primary School (Truganina)

Teacher of the Year (Secondary)
Timothy Thompson, Mount Lilydale Mercy College (Lilydale)

Student Action Team of the Year (Primary)
Truganina South Primary School (Truganina)

Student Action Team of the Year (Secondary)
Nossal High School (Berwick)

Community Leadership School of the Year (Primary)
Warrnambool East Primary School

Community leadership School of the Year (Secondary)
Footscray City College (Footscray)

Curriculum Leadership School of the Year (Primary)
St Aloysius Primary School (Queenscliff)

Curriculum Leadership School of the Year (Secondary)
Kyneton Secondary College (Kyneton)