Networks

Whether you're a principal, teacher, educator, parent, or student - there are many ways you can get your school actively involved in ResourceSmart Schools to take action on climate change. Support is available from a range of networks to get your school started and progressing on it's sustainability journey.

Networks across Victoria include (scroll down the page for details):

  • ResourceSmart Schools Network
  • Teacher Environment Networks
  • Principals
  • Students

 

ResourceSmart Schools Networks

Network Contact details
Barwon South West ResourceSmart Schools Network

James McLennan, The Farmer's Place

Mobile: 0431 583 354

Email: James@thefarmersplace.com.au

Loddon Mallee ResourceSmart Schools Network

Ellen White, Loddon Mallee Region Waste and Resource Recovery Group

Mobile: 0409013448

Email: resourcesmart@lmwrrg.vic.gov.au

Gippsland ResourceSmart Schools Network Alison Taylor, Gippsland Waste and Resource Recovery Group

Phone: 56333335, Mobile: 0409879910

Email: Alison.taylor@grwmg.vic.gov.au

Grampians ResourceSmart Schools Network

Paul Lehamnn, Grampians Central West Waste and Resource Recovery Group

Mobile: 0419824618

Email: resourcesmartpaullehmann@gmail.com

Hume ResourceSmart Schools Network

Kirsten Hogan, GVW

Email: KirstenH@gvwater.vic.gov.au

Metropolitan - East ResourceSmart Schools Network

Nick Rickard, CERES

Email: nick@ceres.org.au

Metropolitan - South ResourceSmart Schools Network

Jane Burns, CERES

Email: jane.burns@ceres.org.au

Metropolitan - North ResourceSmart Schools Network

Randy Mendez, CERES

Email: randy@ceres.org.au

Metropolitan - West ResourceSmart Schools Network

Nicole Butler, EEV

Email: resourcesmart@eev.vic.edu.au

 

Teacher Environment Networks

Teacher environment networks are developed and run locally. They support teachers to deliver ResourceSmart Schools and provide an opportunity to share skills, knowledge and ideas with other teachers in the same area. This is a great way to develop your professional skills and to hear new ideas from other teachers who are implementing sustainability initiatives in their schools. Find your school's local network grouped by region in the table below.

If your region isn't listed below, contact your local council to see what programs they offer and for advice in how to get a teacher environment network (TEN) started in your area. You may also like to contact one of the TEN providers below for tips on how to start your journey.

 

Network Contact details
Schools Engagement Network for Metropolitan Council Officers

Samantha Ackland

Metropolitan Waste and Resource Recovery Group

Mobile: 0409 147 005

Email: Samantha.ackland@mwrrg.vic.gov.au

Banyule-Nillumbik Teachers Environment Network

Carolyn Pickburn

Nillumbik City Council

Phone: 9433 3708, 0417 389 061

Email: carolyn.pickburn@nillumbik.vic.gov.au

 

Jim Mead

Banyule City Council

Phone: 9457 9885, 0466 330 348

Email: jim.mead@banyule.vic.gov.au

Brimbank Teacher Environment Network Karina King

Brimbank City Council

Phone: 9249 4924

Email: KarinaK@brimbank.vic.gov.au

City of Boroondara and Monash - Teachers Environment Network

Anna Mezzetti

City of Monash

Phone: 9518 3423

Email: annam@monash.vic.gov.au

 

Liz Caspar

City of Boroondara           

Phone: 9278 4347

Email: liz.caspar@boroondara.vic.gov.au

Frankston City Council - Teachers Environmental Network

Debbie Coffey

Frankston City Council

Phone: 9784 1768

Email: debbie.coffey@frankston.vic.gov.au

Glen Eira City Council - Green Urban Better Schools (GRUBS)

Sally Stewart

Glen Eira

Phone: 9524 3333

Email: sustainability@gleneira.vic.gov.au

Greater Dandenong Teacher Environment Network Samantha Ondrus

City of Greater Dandenong Council

Phone: 9797 1715

Email: samantha.ondrus@cgd.vic.gov.au

Hobsons Bay Teacher Environment Network

Jen McQueeney

Hobsons Bay City Council

Phone: 9932 1104

Email: jmcqueeney@hobsonsbay.vic.gov.au

 Kingston Council's Education for our Future - Teacher Environmental Network

Peter Murrell

Kingston Council

Phone: 9581 4382

Email: Peter.murrell@kingston.vic.gov.au

Knox City Council - Greenleaf Schools for Sustainability Teacher Network

Knox City Council

Phone: 9298 8419

Manningham Teacher Environment Network

Linda Kenworthy

Manningham City Council

Phone: 9864 0575

Email: linda.kenworthy@manningham.vic.gov.au

Maribyrnong City Council - Sustainable Maribyrnong Schools

Joanna Attard

Maribyrnong City Council

Phone: 9688 0584

Mobile: 0417 140 113

Email: joanna.attard@maribyrnong.vic.gov.au

Melton Teacher Environment Network

Linda Bradburn

Melton City Council

Phone: 9747 7200

Email: lindab@melton.vic.gov.au

 Moonee Valley Teacher Environment Network

Stephanie Mitten

Moonee Valley City Council

Phone: 9243 9165

Email: smitten@mvcc.vic.gov.au  

Mornington Peninsula Teachers Network

Liz Hubbert

Mornington Peninsula Shire

Phone: 0427 599 149

Email: liz_hubbert@hotmail.com

Port Phillip and Bayside Teachers Environmental Network

Karen Jones

Port Phillip EcoCentre

Phone: 9525 3102

Email: karen@ecocentre.com

Stonnington Green Schools' Network

Katherine Cocks

City of Stonnington Council

Phone: 8290 2063

Email: kcocks@stonnington.vic.gov.au

Whittlesea Teacher Environment Network

Sylvia Turk

Whittlesea City Council

Phone: 9401 0509

Email: sylvia.turk@whittlesea.vic.gov.au    

Wyndham Teacher Environment Network

Tessa O'Brien

Wyndham City Council

Phone: 9742 0777

Email: tessa.obrien@wyndham.vic.gov.au

Yarra City Teacher Environment Network

Lisa Coffa

Yarra City Council

Phone: 9205 5078

Email: Coffal@yarracity.vic.gov.au

Yarra Ranges - Learning for Sustainability Teachers Environment Network

Saba Al-Saleem

Yarra Ranges Council

Phone: 9294 6491

Email: s.al-saleem@yarraranges.vic.gov.au

Barwon South West Teacher Environment Network

Ant Mangelsdorf, Sense of Place Sustainability Consulting

Mobile: 0417 015 808

Email: senseofplace@ozemail.com.au

Gippsland Teacher Environment Network

Alison Taylor

Gippsland Waste and Resource Recovery Group

Phone:56333335

Mobile:0409879910

Email: Alison.taylor@grwmg.vic.gov.au

Grampians Central West Teacher Environment Network

Paul Lehmann

Grampians Central West Waste and Resource Recovery Group

Mobile: 0419824618

Email: resourcesmartpaullehmann@gmail.com

Loddon Mallee Teacher Environment Network

Ellen White

Loddon Mallee Region Waste and Resource Recovery Group

Mobile: 0409013448

Email: resourcesmart@lmwrrg.vic.gov.au

North East Teacher Environment Network

Linda Anania

North East Waste and Resource Recovery Group

Phone: 57229232

Email: seed@newrrg.vic.gov.au

Principals

You are always welcome to join your local teacher environment network to link in with what other schools are doing in your region. There is also the Victorian Principal's Association which provides support specifically to principals and provides professional development opportunities and forums.

Students

Contact your local council to find out what they have on offer; such as a youth council, student action networks, youth leadership programs and Friends of Bushland groups. These different programs can provide fantastic opportunities for work experience, building leadership skills and working with other young people with similar interests to become leaders in your community. You can also become involved with national groups such as Australian Youth Climate Coalition (see link below). They organise events and can provide mentoring and training to young people who want to be leaders in sustainability and make a difference.